School Psychology

Established in 1965, the Berkeley School Psychology Program prepares graduates to assume leadership roles as practicing school psychologists, researchers, university educators, and program directors at the local, state and national levels. Grounded in a scientist-practitioner model of education and training, the program emphasizes a cognitive-developmental perspective and a school-based mental-health consultation model of service delivery.

The UC Berkeley School Psychology Program is accredited by the American Psychological Association. Questions related to the program’s accredited status should be directed to the Commission on Accreditation:

Office of Program Consultation and Accreditation
American Psychological Association
750 1st Street, NE
Washington, DC 20002

Phone: (202) 336-5979 / E-mail:


The program is also accredited by the California State Department of Education and approved by the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP). Students earn their master's degree after completing the first milestone toward their doctorate, but the program does not offer a terminal master's degree. Completion of the program meets the current requirements for certification as a school psychologist and licensure as a psychologist in California.

Program Faculty

Alisa Crovetti

Alejandra Ojeda-Beck

Kate Perry

Frank C. Worrell*

Chunyan Yang*

* Faculty interested in admitting new doctoral students for the coming academic year.